Sugarfed is an apex Institution and headed by the elected Board of Directors and a whole time Managing Director, who controls its affairs. At present there are 15 Cooperative Sugar Mills and 3 distilleries in the State of Punjab under Sugarfed. Out of these 15 Coop. Sugar Mills, nine sugar mills at Ajnala, Fazilka, Bhogpur, Morinda, Budhewal, Batala, Gurdaspur, Nawanshahr and Nakodar are in running condition. Remaining six sugar mills at Patiala, Budhlada, Jagraon, Zira, Tarn Taran and Faridkot are under liquidation and three distilleries at Gurdaspur, Nakodar and Nawanshahr are lying closed. Besides this, there is one Tissue culture Laboratory at NawanShahr and Two Bio Control Laboratory at Morinda and N/shahr CSMs.

1.80 lac farmers families are connected with the sugar mills in the State. Punjab Cooperative Sugar Mills are providing technical knowhow for cane development to the farmers pertaining to introduction of sugarcane varieties having high sugar and yield with the consultation of PAU, Ludhiana and other National level Institutions of Sugarcane to increase area under sugarcane, new cultivation techniques related to cane sowing, providing disease free cane seed, pest control management, timely delivery of their produce and making them timely payment to encourage them to grow more quality sugarcane in the State. We are also providing breeder seeds from Research Stations of Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana and Tissue culture plantlets (from N/Shar Tissue Culture Lab) of sugarcane for the benefit of the farmers and the industry.