Who We Are

Punjab Sugarfed is an apex body of fifteen Cooperative Sugar Mills in the state. Out of fifteen, six sugar mills are lying closed located at Budhlada, Faridkot, Jagraon, Patiala, Tarntaran and Zira. Nine functional cooperative sugar mills are located at Ajnala, Batala, Bhogpur, Budhewal, Fazilka, Gurdaspur, Morinda, Nakodar and Nawanshahr with crushing capacity of 15850 TCD. Liquidation work of Budhlada and Jargraon sugar mills have been completed and liquidation of Fardikot sugar mill is under process. Decision regarding revival/liquidation of Patiala, Tarntaran and Zira sugar mills is under review of the Cabinet of State Government.  In addition, there are three closed Distilleries at Gurdaspur (20 KLPD),  Nawanshahr (40 KLPD) & Nakodar (40 KLPD). Steps are being taken to revive the closed distilleries on Build, Own, Operate and Transfer (BOOT) basis. Besides this, there is one Tissue culture Laboratory at Nawanshahr and two Bio Control Laboratories at Morinda and N/shahr CSMs.

1.80 lac farmers families are connected with the sugar mills in the State. Punjab Cooperative Sugar Mills are providing services to the farmers such as disease free seed, pest control management timely purchase of their produce and making them timely payment to encourage them to  grow more quality sugarcane in the State.We are also introducing high Sucrose Content & high yield varieties of sugarcane for the benefit of industry and the farmers.

E-tendering have been introduced in purchasing above Rs.5 lacs for sale of molasses and sugar. Sugar sale Depots have been opened at main road gate of all sugarmills where special efforts are being made for retail sale of sugar in 5kg, 10kg and 25 kg packing directly to consumers. Efforts are also being made to enter into production & sale of Gur in some of sugar mills.